Black+Decker Drill Kit Comparison: Finding the Right Power Tool Set
Selecting a black and decker drill kit requires balancing battery voltage, clutch adjustability, and the breadth of included accessories.
What this report covers
- Models assessed
- 6
- Buyer rating range
- 4.2 – 4.7 of 5
- Last updated
- 25 Sep 2026
Figures above are read from the product listings for the models named below. Ratings are the average left by Amazon buyers, not a score awarded here.
As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.
Selecting a black and decker drill kit requires balancing battery voltage, clutch adjustability, and the breadth of included accessories. Homeowners, property managers, and DIY enthusiasts frequently evaluate whether a dedicated drilling set or an all-in-one household maintenance bundle best suits their upcoming tasks. Across these options, the primary decision lies between compact, lightweight maneuverability for tight spaces and higher-voltage power paired with expansive bit sets for assembling furniture, hanging fixtures, and fastening into diverse materials. Choosing the right configuration prevents overspending on redundant components while ensuring you have sufficient torque and runtime for your specific projects.
The Black+Decker lineup is organized into two primary voltage tiers—12V MAX and 20V MAX—and split between bit-heavy accessory bundles and comprehensive project kits. The 20V MAX POWERCONNECT battery platform serves as the foundation for the brand’s larger ecosystem, allowing interchangeable battery packs to power workshop tools, yard equipment, and home utility devices. Within this range, some kits focus strictly on high-count drill bits, screwdriving tips, and nut drivers, while project kits incorporate manual hand tools such as claw hammers, slip-joint pliers, torpedo levels, and utility knives inside durable storage bags.
Criteria matrix What each model in this report is credited with
Rows are the criteria that come up in the pros and cons listed for this lineup. A check means the criterion is named in this report’s write-up of that model; a dash means it is not. Criteria that apply to every model, or to only one, are left out because they separate nothing.
| Criterion | BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX* POWERCONNECT 4.5★ | BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 68-Piece 4.4★ | BLACK+DECKER 12V MAX Drill 4.7★ | BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT 4.3★ | BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill 4.2★ | beyond by BLACK+DECKER Home 4.5★ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Manual | Named | Named | Named | Named | Not named | Named |
| Hand tools | Named | Named | Named | Not named | Not named | Named |
| Storage bag | Named | Not named | Not named | Not named | Named | Named |
| Tools and accessories | Not named | Named | Named | Not named | Not named | Not named |
| Integrated LED work | Not named | Not named | Named | Not named | Not named | Named |
| POWERCONNECT battery | Named | Not named | Not named | Not named | Not named | Named |
| Torpedo level | Named | Not named | Not named | Not named | Not named | Named |
| Nut drivers | Named | Not named | Not named | Named | Not named | Not named |
| Criteria named | 6 / 8 | 3 / 8 | 4 / 8 | 2 / 8 | 1 / 8 | 6 / 8 |
Built from the wording of this report, not from a bench test. A dash is not a fault: it only means the write-up does not mention that point for that model. Star figures are the average rating left by Amazon buyers, read from the product listing.
Black+Decker Drill Kits Lineup at a Glance
| Model | Voltage & Battery Capacity | Clutch Positions | Included Tool & Bit Count | Speed & Torque Ratings |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX* POWERCONNECT Cordless Drill (BDC120VA100) | 20V MAX Lithium-Ion (4 A) | 24 positions | 100-piece accessory set | 2 speeds (650 / 1700 rpm), 150 / 300 in-lb torque |
| BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 68-Piece Cordless Drill (LDX120PK) | 20V MAX Lithium-Ion (1.5 Ah) | 11 positions | 68 pieces (drill + 66 hand tools/accessories + bag) | The listing does not specify |
| BLACK+DECKER 12V MAX Drill & Home (BDCDD12PK) | 12V MAX Lithium-Ion (1.5 A) | The listing does not specify | 60 pieces (drill + 59 hand tools/accessories + bag) | 25 Nm torque, speed not specified |
| BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Power Drill (LD120VA) | 20V MAX Lithium-Ion (1.5 Ah / 2 A) | 24 positions | 30 accessories (bits, nut drivers, holder) | 2 speeds (up to 750 rpm), 300 in-lb torque |
| BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill & Home (BDCD120VA) | 20V MAX Lithium-Ion (2.0 Ah / 2 A) | 24 positions | 34 pieces (drill, bits, hand tools, bag) | 650 rpm rotational speed |
| beyond by BLACK+DECKER Home Tool Kit (BDPK70284C1AEV) | 20V MAX Lithium-Ion (1.5 Ah / 15 A) | 11 positions | 83 pieces (drill + 84 components listed + bag) | The listing does not specify |
The Models in Detail
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX* POWERCONNECT Cordless Drill
Best for: Hanging decor and precise leveling projects
Pros
- Includes torpedo level tape and knife
- 24-position clutch with variable trigger
- 0 Ah battery capacity
Cons
- Maximum speed limited to 650 rpm

Best for: Dedicated drilling with essential bit set
Pros
- 300 in-lb maximum torque
- 24 clutch positions for control
- Includes 30 bits and nut drivers
Cons
- No storage bag included in listing

Best for: General household maintenance and hand tools
Pros
- Includes 66 hand tools and accessories
- Holds charge up to 18 months
- Carrying bag included
Cons
- 11 clutch positions limit fine adjustment

Best for: Extensive bit variety and dual speeds
Pros
- 100-piece bit and socket set
- 24-position clutch control
- Two speeds up to 1700 rpm
- Interchangeable POWERCONNECT battery
Cons
- No manual hand tools included
The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX* POWERCONNECT Cordless Drill (model BDC120VA100) is configured for users who need maximum drilling and driving versatility without having to buy separate accessory packs. Powered by a 20V MAX lithium-ion battery system, this combination drill features a dual-speed transmission delivering 650 rpm on the low setting and up to 1700 rpm on the high setting, backed by 300 in-lb of maximum torque and an 1800-watt power rating. Its 24-position clutch gives the operator fine control over fastener depth, preventing the stripping of screw heads or overdriving into soft woods and plastics. The 10-millimeter keyless chuck accommodates a wide variety of standard shanks, while the soft-grip handle minimizes hand strain during extended drilling tasks.
What sets the BDC120VA100 apart from the rest of the brand’s offerings is its 100-piece accessory set. Rather than supplying general hand tools like wrenches or hammers, this black and decker drill kit concentrates entirely on drilling and driving consumables, providing a massive assortment of brad point bits, standard twist drill bits, screwdriving inserts, and nut-running sockets suitable for wood, metal, and plastic. The included battery belongs to the modular POWERCONNECT ecosystem, allowing you to swap the power pack into compatible yard equipment such as a black and decker lawn edger or other cordless tools.
This model is best suited for serious hobbyists, woodworkers, and maintenance workers who already own hand tools and specifically want a black and decker cordless drill kit packed with specialized bits. However, if your home repair projects require manual implements such as pliers, levels, and tape measures in a single unified carrier, this package gives way to the broader project kits like the LDX120PK or the beyond series.
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 68-Piece Cordless Drill
The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 68-Piece Cordless Drill (model LDX120PK) addresses the need for a comprehensive home repair station in a single package. At the center of the kit is a 20V MAX cordless drill paired with a 1.5 Ah lithium-ion battery pack that holds its charge for up to 18 months in storage. The tool features an 11-position clutch engineered to stop fasteners from stripping out drywall or overdriving into finished surfaces. The entire kit weighs 1.8 kg, making it easy to carry around the house or store inside a utility closet using the supplied fabric carrying bag.
Alongside the cordless power tool, this bundle provides 66 hand tools and accessories designed to tackle general maintenance. The assortment includes essential manual tools needed for hanging artwork, assembling flat-pack furniture, and tightening loose hardware throughout a property. The drill provides stable power for standard household drilling into wood and plastic, supported by a two-year limited manufacturer warranty. While the listing does not specify the maximum rotational speed or torque figures in inch-pounds, the 20V platform delivers ample power for standard domestic applications.
This model suits first-time homeowners, apartment dwellers, and students moving into a new residence who need a complete starter setup. It provides both the drill and the basic hand tools required for quick repairs without requiring separate purchases. It gives way to the BDC120VA100 if you require a 24-position clutch for delicate fastener depth control or a dedicated 100-piece drilling bit collection.
BLACK+DECKER 12V MAX Drill & Home

Best for: Lightweight tasks in cramped spaces
Pros
- 35 percent more compact build
- Mid-handle design with LED light
- Includes 59 hand tools and accessories
Cons
- Lower 12V torque output
The BLACK+DECKER 12V MAX Drill & Home (model BDCDD12PK) focuses on compact dimensions, lightweight handling, and access to confined workspaces. Operating on a 12V MAX lithium-ion platform with a 1.5 A rating, this basic drill produces 25 Nm of torque and is engineered to be 35 percent more compact than the brand’s legacy GCO1200C NiCad drill/driver. It features an ergonomic mid-handle design that balances the tool’s weight directly over the user’s grip, significantly reducing wrist fatigue during overhead tasks. An integrated LED work light illuminates dark corners, under-sink cabinets, and closet interiors.
The kit features 60 total pieces, including the 12V drill/driver, 59 hand tools and accessories, a rechargeable lithium-ion battery that maintains a charge for up to 18 months on standby, and a convenient carrying bag. The drill utilizes a 0.5-inch chuck capacity, allowing it to accept larger shank bits than many compact competitors. The bundled hand tools cover basic household needs, providing screwdriving bits, manual drivers, and everyday hardware accessories that streamline minor fixes around the home.
This black and decker 12v drill kit is ideal for individuals who prioritize a lightweight, maneuverable tool for minor repairs, curtain rod installations, and quick fixes in cramped quarters. However, because its 12V motor generates 25 Nm of torque, it yields to the larger 20V MAX options when you need to bore large-diameter holes through hardwoods or drive heavy lag screws into framing studs.
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Power Drill
The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Power Drill (model LD120VA) provides a balanced middle ground between bare-tool simplicity and overwhelming accessory counts. This kit centers on a 20V MAX cordless drill/driver powered by a 1.5 Ah lithium-ion battery with a 2 A draw and an 1800-watt maximum power rating. The two-speed mechanical transmission reaches up to 750 rpm, while the motor generates 300 in-lb of torque. Equipped with a 24-position clutch, this drill allows precise torque adjustment so you can sink screws flush with workpieces without damaging delicate materials.
The included 30-piece accessory set focuses specifically on core drilling and fastening operations. It includes six brad point drill bits for clean wood boring, ten 1-inch screwdriving bits, nine 2-inch screwdriving bits for reaching recessed fasteners, four nut drivers for hex-head bolts, and a magnetic bit tip holder to prevent dropped fasteners. Its soft-grip handle enhances comfort during repetitive tasks, and the battery holds a charge for up to 18 months between uses. The tool also connects seamlessly with the wider 20V MAX POWERCONNECT system, making it easy to share batteries across multiple workshop tools or utility devices such as a portable black and decker washer.
This setup is an excellent choice for DIYers who already have a basic toolbox with hammers and wrenches but want a dependable, high-torque cordless drill paired with the most frequently used bit sizes. It gives way to the BDCD120VA or LDX120PK if you also need manual measuring, leveling, and cutting tools bundled in the same kit.
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill & Home
The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill & Home (model BDCD120VA) is a 34-piece combo kit created for general domestic installations, framing, and fixture mounting. Built around the LD120 20V MAX drill/driver, this unit features a 2.0 Ah lithium-ion battery—providing extended operating capacity compared to standard 1.5 Ah packs—along with a rated battery life of up to 24 hours depending on the application. The tool operates at a maximum rotational speed of 650 rpm and features a variable-speed trigger that allows users to feather the throttle when starting holes or countersinking screw heads into soft materials.
The 34-piece accessory assortment provides high utility for hanging wall decor and installing appliances, such as mounting brackets for a black and decker 12000 btu ac unit. In addition to ten 1-inch driving bits, nine 2-inch driving bits, six drilling bits, four socket bits, and a magnetic bit holder, the kit includes a utility knife, a tape measure, and a 6-inch torpedo level. Everything packs neatly into the included storage bag, keeping the drill, charger, and alignment tools organized in a 2164-gram package.
This kit is the ideal choice for homeowners whose primary projects involve mounting shelves, hanging large mirrors, and securing cabinetry where leveling and measuring tools are indispensable. It gives way to the beyond by Black+Decker kit if your maintenance jobs demand heavy striking tools like a hammer or gripping tools like pliers.
beyond by BLACK+DECKER Home Tool Kit
Best for: Complete starter toolkit for DIY projects
Pros
- Includes hammer pliers and hex wrenches
- Integrated LED work light
- Interchangeable POWERCONNECT battery
Cons
- 11 clutch settings offer fewer steps
The beyond by BLACK+DECKER Home Tool Kit (model BDPK70284C1AEV) is the most expansive project kit in the brand’s lineup, delivering 83 total pieces designed to handle virtually any basic domestic repair. The kit features the BCD702 20V MAX drill/driver, an LBXR20 1.5 Ah lithium-ion battery, and an LCS1620 charger. The drill includes an 11-position adjustable clutch to regulate driving depth, an integrated LED work light to illuminate dimly lit work areas, and a 15 A motor design that handles both wood and metal fastening with ease.
The accessory package stands out by providing a full suite of traditional hand tools alongside drilling accessories. The kit supplies a claw hammer, slip-joint pliers, a tape measure, a torpedo level, hex wrenches, a manual screwdriver handle, and an extensive selection of drill bits and screwdriving bits. Housed in a heavy-duty fabric storage bag, this 84-component collection eliminates the need to buy secondary tools for routine plumbing adjustments, furniture assembly, or wall hanging.
This comprehensive set is best suited for anyone setting up a workshop from scratch or looking for a single grab-and-go kit to keep in a vehicle, rental property, or garage. It gives way to the BDC120VA100 if your work requires fine clutch calibration across 24 settings or higher rotational speeds for rapid production drilling.
Matching a Model to Your Setup
- Outfitting an apartment or new home from scratch: The beyond by BLACK+DECKER Home Tool Kit provides the most complete all-in-one solution, supplying a claw hammer, pliers, hex keys, and a level alongside a 20V drill.
- High-volume drilling and precision fastening: The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX* POWERCONNECT Cordless Drill (BDC120VA100) is the right match for woodworkers and builders who need a 24-position clutch, dual-speed transmission (up to 1700 rpm), and a 100-piece bit set.
- Working in tight quarters or overhead fixtures: The BLACK+DECKER 12V MAX Drill & Home (BDCDD12PK) provides an ultra-compact mid-handle design and integrated LED light to navigate cramped under-sink cabinets and tight corners.
- Hanging pictures, mirrors, and shelving: The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill & Home (BDCD120VA) includes a 6-inch level, tape measure, utility knife, and a 2.0 Ah battery, providing everything needed for clean wall installations.
- Routine maintenance with an existing hand tool collection: The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Power Drill (LD120VA) delivers 300 in-lb of torque, a 24-position clutch, and 30 core drill bits and nut drivers without duplicate hand tools.
- Balanced domestic repairs on a budget: The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 68-Piece Cordless Drill (LDX120PK) combines 20V drilling power with 66 essential hand tools inside a portable storage bag for everyday tasks.
Before You Buy
When conducting a black and decker drill kit comparison, pay close attention to what is omitted from the product listings. None of these six kits include a secondary backup battery; each package comes with exactly one lithium-ion pack. If your workflow involves continuous, back-to-back drilling over several hours, you will need to purchase an additional POWERCONNECT battery separately or pause your work while the pack recharges. Furthermore, while these kits include drill bits for wood, plastic, and light metal, the listings do not specify masonry or concrete hammer bits, and none of these models feature a dedicated hammer-drill percussion mode for drilling into solid brick or poured foundation walls.
Additionally, several technical specifications vary in completeness across the listings. For example, the product listings for the LDX120PK and the beyond BDPK70284C1AEV do not specify maximum rotational speeds (rpm) or maximum torque ratings in inch-pounds, even though both operate on the 20V MAX platform. Similarly, while the BDC120VA100 and LD120VA explicitly detail a 10-millimeter chuck size, the BDCDD12PK lists a 0.5-inch chuck, and the other listings do not specify the exact chuck construction material. Reviewing these fine details ensures you select the kit that matches your material requirements before beginning your project.
FAQ
Which Black+Decker drill to buy for basic household tasks?
For general home maintenance where you do not already own a toolbox, the beyond by BLACK+DECKER Home Tool Kit or the LDX120PK offers the best overall utility because both packages combine a 20V cordless drill with essential hand tools like pliers, measuring tapes, and screwdrivers. If you already possess hand tools and strictly need a power tool with bits, the LD120VA or BDC120VA100 is the more direct choice.
Can Black+Decker 20V MAX batteries be used across different tools?
Yes. The 20V MAX POWERCONNECT battery platform is designed for cross-compatibility across all Black+Decker 20V power tools, outdoor equipment, and compatible home appliances. However, 20V MAX batteries cannot be used on 12V MAX tools like the BDCDD12PK, which operates on its own dedicated 12V lithium-ion platform.
What is the difference between an 11-position and a 24-position clutch?
The clutch regulates the amount of torque transferred to the fastener before the drive mechanism disengages. An 11-position clutch offers broad torque steps suitable for general wood and drywall fastening, while a 24-position clutch provides finer increments of adjustment. The 24-position setup gives the user greater precision to avoid overdriving delicate brass screws or stripping plastic components.
Is a 12V drill kit powerful enough for everyday home maintenance?
The 12V MAX drill kit produces 25 Nm of torque, which is sufficient for hanging window treatments, assembling furniture, mounting cabinet hardware, and drilling into softwoods and light plastics. However, for continuous boring with large spade bits or driving long fasteners into structural framing, a 20V MAX drill kit provides greater power and torque headroom.
How long does the Black+Decker lithium-ion battery hold its charge when stored?
According to the product listings, the Black+Decker lithium-ion batteries across these kits hold a charge for up to 18 months when left in storage. This slow discharge rate makes them dependable for occasional DIYers who need the tool to be ready for an emergency repair after sitting in a closet for months.